The Forum at the Writers' Arms

Go to the forum at the Writers' Arms if you want to start a discussion on any topic that interests you, or if you want to comment on what other people have said.

Friday, 2 July 2010

Arvon Poetry Prize 2010

A reminder of another prize, this one for poetry, should you wish to enter. Entries are being sought to this year's Arvon International Poetry Competition. The biennial competition was first held in 1980, founded by one future Poet Laureate, Ted Hughes, and won in that year by his successor, Andrew Motion, for his poem The Letter. In addition to the competition, the Arvon Foundation runs courses in many areas of writing. 

This year, the judges are Carol Ann Duffy (in the chair), Elaine Feinstein and Sudeep Sen. Entries must be made by 5pm on 16 August, for which the fee is £7 per poem. Check the competition website for details.

No comments:

Post a Comment